What Codes are in Use?

Currently the following codes are applicable:

  • 2015 Virginia Uniform Statewide Building Code - entire code series

  • 2015 International Residential Code

  • 2015 International Building Code

  • 2014 National Electric Code (NFPA 70)

  • 2015 International Fire Prevention Code

  • 2015 International Fuel Gas Code

  • 2015 International Mechanical Code

  • 2015 International Plumbing Code

Many of these codes reference other codes and documents, which are then considered part of the applicable codes.

The code change cycle is approximately every three years.

Copies of the Virginia Uniform Statewide Building Code may be downloaded free of charge from http://www.vbcoa.org . Copies of the other codes are available for purchase online from http://www.iccsafe.org .

Staff Information

Susan McGhee
Director

757-678-0443 ext. 541

smcghee@co.northampton.va.us


David Dameron
Zoning Administrator

757-678-0443 ext. 545

ddameron@co.northampton.va.us


John Outten
Building Official

757-678-0445 ext. 525

joutten@co.northampton.va.us


Kelley Lewis Parks
Planner/GIS Specialist

757-678-0443 ext. 546

mklewis@co.northampton.va.us


Tom Rippon
Code Compliance and Building Inspector

757-678-0445 ext. 526

twrippon@co.northampton.va.us


Julie Floyd
Development Inspector

757-678-0443 ext. 542

julie.floyd@co.northampton.va.us


Jennifer Sayers
Building Permit Technician

757-678-0445 ext. 543

jsayers@co.northampton.va.us


Rose Bower
Zoning Permit Technician

757-678-0443 ext. 524

rose.bower@co.northampton.va.us


Carolyn Duffy
Administrative Clerk 

757-678-0443 ext. 544

carolyn.duffy@co.northampton.va.us


Department of Planning, Permitting & Enforcement
PO Box 538
16404 Courthouse Road
Eastville, VA 23347

Hours of Operation
Monday-Friday
9 AM - 5 PM