Code Enforcement

Mission Statement

The Code Compliance department enforces county ordinances pertaining to solid waste, over grown grass, unlicensed vehicles, dangerous structures, and abandoned or inoperable vehiclesA full list of Northampton County ordinances can be found at http://www.amlegal.com/codes/client/northampton-county_va/.

The Process

The code enforcement process is typically initiated:

  • in response to a complaint by an individual;
  • observation of a code violation by County staff

How do I notify the County about a possible code violation?

You may file a complaint about a possible code violation in person, in writing, by phone or email. In an average year, the County receives several hundred complaints related to possible code enforcement violations.
Please be prepared with specific information, such as:

  • the address of the property,
  • detailed description of the situation, and
  • the length of time you have observed the situation.

You do not have to identify yourself, but having your name will assist us with follow-up and ensure we have all the information we need to resolve the situation.

 

To report any violation please contact 757-678-o443 ext. 526

Department Staff Information

Susan McGhee
Director

757-678-0443 ext. 541

smcghee@co.northampton.va.us



Zoning Administrator

757-678-0443 ext. 545


John Outten
Building Official

757-678-0445 ext. 525

joutten@co.northampton.va.us


Kelley Lewis Parks
Senior Planner

757-678-0443 ext. 546

mklewis@co.northampton.va.us


Tom Rippon
Code Compliance and Building Inspector

757-678-0445 ext. 526

tripppon@co.northampton.va.us


Beth Nunnally 
Development Inspector

757-678-0443 ext. 542

bnunnally@co.northampton.va.us


Katie Spady 
Environmental Specialist

757-678-0443 ext. 544

kspady@co.northampton.va.us


Jennifer Sayers 
Permit Technician

 757-678-0445 ext. 543

jsayers@co.northampton.va.us


Carmen Warner
Office Coordinator

757-678-0443 ext. 524

cwarner@co.northamptom.va.us


Department of Planning, Permitting & Enforcement
PO Box 538
16404 Courthouse Road
Eastville, VA 23347

Hours of Operation
Monday-Friday
9 AM - 5 PM