Community Unity Day 2020

30th Annual Community Unity Day 2020
Posted on 01/22/2020
30th Annual Community Unity Day 
In Celebration of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.'s Birthday
January 20, 2020

Community Unity Breakfast
8:30 a.m. - 11:30 a.m.
Northampton High School

Tired of the divisiveness? COME TOGETHER! 30th Annual Community Day Breakfast. Northampton High, Eastville, VA
$6 Adults, Children FREE

In the dawning days of hope that each January represents, our community comes together to celebrate Martin Luther King Jr. Day with an uplifting morning of inspirational conversations, awards to the often-unsung heroes among us, the voices of our youth, goosebumps-producing Gospel songs. All in all, it’s a big Shore hug. JOIN US!

Keynote Speaker: This year’s Keynote Speaker is Linda Byrd Hedgepeth, a noted advocate for civil and human rights. Among her many achievements, she is the founder of the Women’s Inspirational Network Ministry, helping to build stronger families and communities.

Community Unity is Partnership with Northampton NAACP, CBES & Northampton Public Schools 

An estimated 600 Northampton County neighbors joined together to celebrate Martin Luther King Jr Day at the The  Community Unity Celebration on Monday January 20, 2020. 

"Now, I say to you today my friends, even though we face the difficulties of today and tomorrow, I still have a dream. It is a dream deeply rooted in the American dream. I have a dream that one day this nation will rise up and live out the true meaning of its creed: -- we hold these truths to be self-evident, that all men are created equal."
-Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. 

  Jane Cabarrus 
Community activist and President of Northampton NAACP, Jane Cabarrus helped to found the Community Unity Day 30 years ago along with then CBES President, Suzanne Wescoat, the Rev. William Whitaker of the NAACP, and Dr. Dawn Goldstine, former Superintendent of the Northampton Public Schools.  

Distinguished guests   
Outstanding citizens: Gary Press, Tom Godwin and Mr. Bell, Sr.
 Skip Bailey and Eddie Lawrence
   School Board member, Skip Oakley and NCPS Superintendent, Eddie Lawrence

 Bill Dyas and Sabrina Parker
Kiptopeke Elementary School Principal, Subrina Parker and community advocate, Bill Dyas take their seats among the guests. 

School Board member, Charlena Jones    

 Smiles are the Universal language
   Leonard Spady, Electoral Board Emeritus
Reach for the Stars  
The head table. 

VIP Everyday 
Smiles are the Universal language.     

  Coach Bell 
   Coach Wayne Bell and Northampton High student.

 Bev and Dixon Leatherbury
  Commonwealth Attorney, Bev Leatherbury and Board of Supervisor member for District 4, Dixon Leatherbury

Student Athletes serve breakfast to the guests   
Northampton's student athletes serve breakfast to the guests while Mr. Bob Toner listens to a neighbor. 
 Coaches and students prepare to serve
 Basketball coaches Wayne Bell and Reverend Kellam organize the student servers. 

Student Athletes pose for a photo 
Northampton High School student athletes pose for a photo.  

  Lovely Ladies
   Lovely Ladies of Northampton: second from left Devin Allen, Access College advisor and coach, and far right Ivory Turner, School Counselor.  

All photos by Terry Flynn.