Commonwealth's Attorney Office

The Commonwealth Attorney is an elected Constitutional Officer whose term is four years. This office is responsible for providing the Commonwealth of Virginia with legal representation in the form of prosecution of all criminal cases in the General District Court, Circuit Court and Juvenile and Domestic Relations Courts, plus handling many civil penalties and forfeitures. Legal advice is provided to many law enforcement agencies and officers. Revenue is received from the State Compensation Board to defray the costs of the office.


The Commonwealth Attorney's goal is to discharge his responsibilities competently and efficiently.

Staff and Contact Information

Jack Thornton
Commonwealth's Attorney

[email protected]

Vincent J. deLalla 
Assistant Commonwealth's Attorney 

[email protected]

Nina Garrison
Administrative Assistant

[email protected]

Voice:(757) 678-0455
Fax: (757) 678-0456

Mailing Address:

PO Box 690
Eastville, VA 23347

Physical Address:

5229 The Hornes
Eastville, VA 23347