Voter Registration and Elections


Important Dates for the June 18, 2024 Dual Primary

Voters can vote for Republican U.S. Senate or Democratic U.S. House of Representatives.
Virginia has open primaries so a voter can pick either ballot to vote, but cannot vote in both races.

May 3: Early In-Person Voting begins Voter Registration office 9AM-5PM

May 28:
Last day to register to vote in this election

June 7:
Last day to request a mailed absentee ballot

June 8:
Open Saturday for in-person voting 9AM-5PM

June 15:
Open Saturday for in-person voting 9AM-5PM

June 15:
Last day to vote early in-person.

June 18:
Election Day Polls are open from 6AM-7PM


Going to the polls on June 18, 2024  to vote in the June Dual Primary? Find out where to vote on the Where do I Vote? page
First look at the District Map to determine your voting district Then look up your Polling Place. Still need help? Call the Voter Registration office at 757-678-0480. 

General Information about the Constitutional Office of the General Registrar

The Electoral Board and General Registrar are responsible for virtually all aspects of voter registration and election administration in Northampton County. They are committed to providing each citizen of Northampton County with the opportunity to exercise his or her right to vote in an efficient and equitable manner in accordance with the Constitutions of the United States, the Commonwealth of Virginia and the Code of Virginia.

The Northampton County Electoral Board is a bipartisan board responsible for ensuring uniformity, fairness, accuracy and purity in all elections held in Northampton County. This board promotes the proper administration of election laws, and campaign finance disclosure compliance. The Board is comprised of three members. The three members are appointed on a staggered term basis for a three-year term. The Circuit Court Judges receive nominations for appointment from the political parties. Two electoral board members shall be of the political party which cast the highest number of votes for Governor in the last election.

The Code of Virginia mandates that the Electoral Board meet in February and March and to hold a Canvas of Votes after each election. The Board calls for other meetings as the need arises. In addition, Board Members must be available to oversee operations at each polling place throughout the day on Election Day.

The General Registrar is appointed for a four-year term and is charged with the responsibility of implementing procedures used to properly register voters, maintaining voter registration records, maintaining the registrar's office and ensuring uniformity, fairness and legality of the registration process in Northampton County. In addition, the registrar carries out duties delegated by the Electoral Board.

The Code of Virginia allows for Special Elections to be conducted under certain circumstances. In addition, each Political Party has the option of holding a Primary every June. A General Election is held every year in November. Town Elections have been moved to November as well, and will take place in the even numbered years.

The Electoral Board and General Registrar will gladly to speak to organizations and groups. Please call the office to make a request.

Mirchelle Enright, Chair
Dennis O'Hara, Vice chair
JoAnn Clark, Secretary

Terrence P. Flynn, General Registrar
Liz Smith, Assistant Registrar

Department Staff Information

Terrence P. Flynn
General Registrar

Liz Smith
Assistant Registrar

Voter Registration
16404 Courthouse Rd
PO Box 510
Eastville VA 23347

Phone: 757-678-0480
Fax: 757-678-0453

[email protected]